Board of Advisors

The Bay Area Council Economic Institute provides a shared platform for leaders to act on key issues affecting the regional economy. It accomplishes this by producing focused analyses on key issues affecting the Bay Area and its future, and by mobilizing regional and state leaders to address those issues, based on working partnerships and a strong foundation of economic and policy analysis.

The strength of the Economic Institute lies in its Board and the relationships and assistance provided by its sponsors and partner organizations throughout the region and the state.


Mark Duggan
Trione Director of SIEPR
Stanford University

Mark Duggan is the Trione Director of the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research and the Wayne and Jodi Cooperman Professor of Economics at Stanford. His research focuses on the health care sector and on the effects of government programs such as Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid. He previously served as the Senior Economist for Health Care Policy at the White House Council of Economic Advisers and was the 2010 recipient of the ASHEcon Medal (awarded every two years to the leading health economist in the U.S. under age 40).

Vice Chair

Libby Schaaf
City of Oakland

Mayor Libby Schaaf was inaugurated into office in January 2015. She immediately launched an ambitious agenda to elevate one of America’s most diverse and progressive cities into a more equitable and resilient place to live. Born and raised in Oakland, Schaaf led initiatives to offset the cost of living crisis, reduce crime, improve transit and infrastructure, and expand educational and career opportunities for the city’s most vulnerable residents.

Board Members

Rome Aloise, Executive Vice President, California Federation of Labor

Bob Alvarado, Executive Officer, Northern California Carpenters Regional Council

Mary G. F. Bitterman, PhD, President, The Bernard Osher Foundation

Henry E. Brady, PhD, Dean, Goldman School of Public Policy, UC Berkeley

London Breed, Mayor, City of San Francisco

Jack P. Broadbent, CEO/Air Pollution Control Officer, Bay Area Air Quality Management District

Keith Carson, Supervisor, District 5, County of Alameda

Cindy Chavez, Supervisor, District 2, County of Santa Clara

Michael Covarrubias, Chairman & CEO, TMG Partners

Diane Dillon, Supervisor, District 3, County of Napa

Rosanne Foust, President & CEO, San Mateo County Economic Development Association

Larry Goldzband, Executive Director, Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, District 1, County of Alameda

Sam Hawgood, MD, Chancellor, UC San Francisco

Therese McMillan, Executive Director, Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Mary Huss, President & Publisher, San Francisco Business Times and Silicon Valley Business Journal

Chris Iglesias, CEO, The Unity Council

Robert James, Partner and Co-Leader, Energy Industry Team, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Chappie Jones, Councilmember, District 1, City of San Jose

Ted Lempert, President, Children Now

Steve Levy, Director & Senior Economist, Center for Continuing Study of the California Economy

Sam Liccardo, Mayor, City of San Jose

Peter A. Luchetti, Partner, Table Rock Infrastructure Partners

Jeremy Madsen, Program Director, The Energy Foundation

Judy Miner, EdD, Chancellor, Foothill-DeAnza Community College District

Sarita Mohapatra, Principal, PwC

Tomiquia Moss, CEO, All Home

Cynthia L. Murray, President & CEO, North Bay Leadership Council

Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton

Rebecca Prozan, Head of Public Affairs, California, Google

Yvette Radford, Vice President, Kaiser Permanente

Brenda Santoro, Head of Trade Services, Silicon Valley Bank

Robert Schroder, Mayor, City of Martinez

Nandini Tandon, PhD, Founder, Tenacity Global Group

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, PhD, President, Stanford University

Laura Tyson, PhD, Director, Institute for Business and Social Impact, Haas School of Business

Jeffrey Welser, PhD, Vice President and Lab Director, IBM – Almaden Research Center

Lawrence Wu, President, NERA Economic Consulting

Jim Wunderman, President & CEO, Bay Area Council


Janhavi Bonville, Associate Executive Vice Chancellor, Strategic Initiatives, UC San Francisco

Jose Corona, Director of Equity & Strategic Partnerships, Office of Mayor Libby Schaaf

Nanci Klein, Deputy Director, Office of Economic Development, City of San Jose

Senior Advisors

Christopher DiGiorgio, Board Chair, Tech Museum of Innovation

Jim Henry, San Francisco Market Managing Partner, PwC

Regis B. Kelly, PhD, Director, California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3), University of California

Lenny Mendonca, Director Emeritus, McKinsey & Company

Past Chairs

Kausik Rajgopal, Senior Partner and West Coast Regional Manager at McKinsey & Company

Laura Tyson, PhD, Director, Institute for Business and Social Impact, Haas School of Business

Lenny Mendonca, Director, Emeritus, McKinsey & Company

Robert Parry, PhD, President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Julius R. Krevans, MD, Chancellor, University of California San Francisco

Chang-Lin Tien, PhD, Chancellor, University of California Berkeley