APPENDIX A: Meetings With Local Business And Economic Development Groups

Local leaders shared their best practices and innovative solutions that could be replicated by other communities the region. They also discussed what region-wide efforts could be useful for addressing the region’s needs and growing economic prosperity.


San Mateo County – July 7, 2014

Cheryl Angeles – San Mateo Chamber of Commerce

Susan Barnes – Bay Area Entrepreneur Center

Rosanne Foust – SAMCEDA

Jim Cogan – Menlo Park Economic Development Director

Edesa Bitbadel – San Carlos Economic Development Manager

Sean Brooks – Redwood City Economic Development Manager


East Bay – July 22, 2014

Darien Louie – East Bay EDA

Stephanie Couch – Institute for STEM Education

Betsy Cantwell – Lawrence Livermore National Lab

Rich Seithel – Northern Waterfront

Randy Iwasaki – Contra Costa Transportation Authority

Mike McGill – East Contra Costa

Stephan Baiter – Workforce Development Board of Contra Costa

Keith Archuleta – East Bay Leadership Council

Kristin Connelly – Contra Costa Economic Partnership

John McManus – Cushman & Wakefield

Steve Tessler – East Bay Manufacturing Group

Janet Huan – Contra Costa Office of Education

Jessica Pitt – Design It! Build It! Ship It!

Art Dao – Alameda County Transportation Commission

Kristin Spanos – Alameda County WIB

Mike Heenemann – Port of Oakland

Matthew Davis – Port of Oakland

Ross Chittenden – Contra Costa Transportation Authority


Santa Clara County – July 23, 2014

John Lang – Chief Economist, City of San Jose

Edith Ramirez – Economic Development Planner, City of Morgan Hill

Christina Briggs – Economic Development Manager, City of Fremont

Greg Matter – Corporate Real Estate Strategy, Jones Lang LaSalle

Ruth Shikada – City Manager, City of San Jose

Chris Burton – Business Development Manager, City of San Jose


North Bay – July 29, 2014

Cynthia Murray – North Bay Leadership Group

Rob Eyler – Sonoma St. University

Ben Stone – Sonoma County Economic Development Board

Cecilia Zamora – Latino Council of Marin

Brian Ling – Sonoma County Alliance

Jonathan Coe – Santa Rosa Chamber of Commerce

Jennifer La Liberte – Napa Economic Development Division

Andy Fegley – Marin Association of Realtors

Coy Smith – Novato Chamber of Commerce


San Francisco – August 11, 2015

Ted Egan – Chief Economist, City of San Francisco

Joe D’Alessandro – President, San Francisco Travel

John Martin – Director, SFO

Mike Futrell – City Manager, City of South San Francisco

Dennis Conaghan – Executive Director, San Francisco Center for Economic Development


Solano County – September 17, 2014

Jim Spering – Solano County Supervisor

Dan Keen – City Manager, City of Vallejo

Jeremy Craig – Finance Director, City of Vacaville

David White – City Manager, City of Fairfield

Robert Bloom – Director, WIB of Solano County

Audrey Taylor – Competitive Ready

Steve Lockett – Associate Director, Venture Catalyst at UC-Davis

Sandy Person – Solano County EDC