Board of Trustees

The Bay Area Council Economic Institute provides a shared platform for leaders to act on key issues affecting the regional economy. It accomplishes this by producing focused analyses on key issues affecting the Bay Area and its future, and by mobilizing regional and state leaders to address those issues, based on working partnerships and a strong foundation of economic and policy analysis.

The strength of the Economic Institute lies in its Board of Trustees and the relationships and assistance provided by its sponsors and partner organizations throughout the region and the state.

Board and Foundation Trustees and Voting Alternates

Laura Tyson

Laura D’Andrea Tyson, PhD, Professor of Business Administration and Economics, and Director of the Institute for Business and Social Impact, Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley
– Biography (PDF: 1 page, 79 KB)

John Adams, Regional Head – Commercial Banking, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

Arthur Bienenstock, PhD, Special Assistant to the President for Federal Research Policy and Director of Wallenberg Research Link, Stanford University

Mary G. F. Bitterman, PhD, President, The Bernard Osher Foundation

Jeffrey A. Bluestone, PhD, A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professor, and Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, UC San Francisco

Michael Borrus, General Partner, X/Seed Capital Management

Henry E. Brady, PhD, Dean, Goldman School of Public Policy, UC Berkeley

Jack P. Broadbent, CEO/Air Pollution Control Officer, Bay Area Air Quality Management District

Keith Carson, Chairman, East Bay Economic Development Alliance and Supervisor, District 5, County of Alameda

Michael Covarrubias, Chairman & CEO, TMG Partners

Debby Cunningham, Senior Vice President, Strategy & Business Development, Kaiser Foundation Health Plans & Hospitals

Christopher DiGiorgio, Chairman, Tech Museum of San Jose

Diane Dillon, Supervisor, District 3, County of Napa

Nicholas Dirks, PhD, Chancellor, UC Berkeley

Rosanne Foust, President & CEO, San Mateo County Economic Development Association and Councilmember, City of Redwood City

Larry Goldzband, Executive Director, Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, District 1, County of Alameda

Sam Hawgood, MD, Chancellor, UC San Francisco

Steve Heminger, Executive Director, Metropolitan Transportation Commission

John Hennessy, PhD, President, Stanford University

Jim Henry, San Francisco Market Managing Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Mary Huss, Publisher, San Francisco Business Times

Robert James, Partner and Co-Leader, Energy Industry Team, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Linda P. B. Katehi, PhD, Chancellor, UC Davis

Steve Kawa, Chief of Staff to Mayor Edwin M. Lee, City and County of San Francisco

Regis B. Kelly, PhD, Director, California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3), University of California

James L. Koch, PhD, Founding Director, Center for Science, Technology & Society, Santa Clara University

Edwin M. Lee, Mayor, City and County of San Francisco

Ted Lempert, President, Children Now

Steve Levy, Director & Senior Economist, Center for Continuing Study of the California Economy

Richard K. Lyons, PhD, Bank of America Dean, Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley

Peter A. Luchetti, Partner, Table Rock Capital, LLC

Jeremy Madsen, Executive Director, Greenbelt Alliance

Lenny Mendonca, Director, Emeritus, McKinsey & Company

Cynthia L. Murray, President & CEO, North Bay Leadership Council

Mick Murray, Senior Vice President & CFO, Blue Shield of California

Olga Perkovic, Vice President, Corporate Planning, URS Corporation

Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton

Mohammad H. Qayoumi, PhD, President, San Jose State University

Ezra Rapport, Executive Director, Association of Bay Area Governments

Paul Saffo, Managing Director, Discern

Sheryl Sandberg, COO, Facebook

Libby Schaaf, Mayor, City of Oakland

Robert Schroder, Mayor, City of Martinez

Nandini Tandon, PhD, El Camino Hospital Board Member

Linda Thor, PhD, Chancellor, Foothill-DeAnza Community College District

Kim Walesh, Director, City of San Jose, Office of Economic Development

John C. Williams, President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Anne Wilson, CEO, United Way of the Bay Area

John Wilton, Vice Chancellor – Administration & Finance, UC Berkeley

Jim Wunderman, President & CEO, Bay Area Council

Ex Officio
Micah Weinberg, PhD, President, Bay Area Council Economic Institute

Past Chairmen:
Robert Parry, PhD, President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Julius R. Krevans, MD, Chancellor, University of California San Francisco
Chang-Lin Tien, PhD, Chancellor, University of California Berkeley
Lenny Mendonca, Director, McKinsey & Company
Voting Alternates:
Jeff Bluestone, PhD, Executive Vice Chancellor, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
Steve Kawa, Chief of Staff to Mayor Ed Lee, City and County of San Francisco
John Wilton, Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, University of California Berkeley