Board of Trustees

The Bay Area Council Economic Institute provides a shared platform for leaders to act on key issues affecting the regional economy. It accomplishes this by producing focused analyses on key issues affecting the Bay Area and its future, and by mobilizing regional and state leaders to address those issues, based on working partnerships and a strong foundation of economic and policy analysis.

The strength of the Economic Institute lies in its Board of Trustees and the relationships and assistance provided by its sponsors and partner organizations throughout the region and the state.

Board of Trustees and Alternates




Kausik Rajgopal

Kausik is Senior Partner and West Coast Regional Manager at McKinsey & Company, and brings extensive experience in strategy, operations, and the public sector. In addition to serving as Chair of the Economic Institute, Kausik also serves on the advisory board of Stanford University’s Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity.


Vice Chairs

Keith Carson, Chairman, East Bay Economic Development Alliance and Supervisor, District 5, County of Alameda

Christopher DiGiorgio, Executive Chairman, Smart Story Technologies



John Adams, Regional Head – Commercial Banking, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

Mary G. F. Bitterman, PhD, President, The Bernard Osher Foundation

Michael Borrus, General Partner, X/Seed Capital Management

Henry E. Brady, PhD, Dean, Goldman School of Public Policy, UC Berkeley

Mark Bregman, PhD, CTO, NetApp

Jack P. Broadbent, CEO/Air Pollution Control Officer, Bay Area Air Quality Management District

Cindy Chavez, Supervisor, District 2, County of Santa Clara

Michael Covarrubias, Chairman & CEO, TMG Partners

Diane Dillon, Supervisor, District 3, County of Napa

Nicholas Dirks, PhD, Chancellor, UC Berkeley

Rosanne Foust, President & CEO, San Mateo County Economic Development Association

Larry Goldzband, Executive Director, Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, District 1, County of Alameda

Sam Hawgood, MD, Chancellor, UC San Francisco

Michael Heald, Managing Director, Global Lead, Business & Growth Strategy, Accenture LLP

Steve Heminger, Executive Director, Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Jim Henry, San Francisco Market Managing Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Mary Huss, Publisher, San Francisco Business Times

Robert James, Partner and Co-Leader, Energy Industry Team, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Chappie Jones, Councilmember, District 1, City of San Jose

Regis B. Kelly, PhD, Director, California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3), University of California

Edwin M. Lee, Mayor, City and County of San Francisco

Ted Lempert, President, Children Now

Steve Levy, Director & Senior Economist, Center for Continuing Study of the California Economy

Janet Liang, President, Northern California Region, Kaiser Permanente

Sam Liccardo, Mayor, City of San Jose

Peter A. Luchetti, Partner, Table Rock Capital, LLC

Richard K. Lyons, PhD, Bank of America Dean, Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley

Jeremy Madsen, Executive Director, Greenbelt Alliance

Lenny Mendonca, Director, Emeritus, McKinsey & Company

Judy Miner, EdD, Chancellor, Foothill-DeAnza Community College District

Cynthia L. Murray, President & CEO, North Bay Leadership Council

Mick Murray, Senior Vice President & CFO, Blue Shield of California

Nancy Pfund, Founder and Managing Partner, DBL Investors

Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton

Paul Saffo, Futurist

Sheryl Sandberg, COO, Facebook

Libby Schaaf, Mayor, City of Oakland

Robert Schroder, Mayor, City of Martinez

Nandini Tandon, PhD, El Camino Hospital Board Member

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, PhD, President, Stanford University

Laura Tyson, PhD, Director, Institute for Business and Social Impact, Haas School of Business

Jeffrey Welser, PhD, Vice President and Lab Director, IBM – Almaden Research Center

John C. Williams, PhD, President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Anne Wilson, CEO, United Way of the Bay Area

Jim Wunderman, President & CEO, Bay Area Council

Ashur Yoseph, Infrastructure Development Program Manager, Office of Economic and Workforce Development, City and County of San Francisco

Mila Zelkha, Community Ambassador, Palantir Technology



Arthur Bienenstock, PhD, Special Assistant to the President for Federal Research Policy and Director of Wallenberg Research Link, Stanford University

Janhavi Bonville, Associate Executive Vice Chancellor, Strategic Initiatives, UC San Francisco

Jose Corona, Director of Equity & Strategic Partnerships, Office of Mayor Libby Schaaf

Jason Elliott, Deputy Chief of Staff to Mayor Edwin M. Lee, City and County of San Francisco

Jerad Ferguson, Chief of Staff, Office of San Jose City Councilmember Chappie Jones

Nanci Klein, Deputy Director, Office of Economic Development, City of San Jose

Daniel Lowenstein, MD, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, UC San Francisco


Ex Officio

Micah Weinberg, PhD, President, Bay Area Council Economic Institute


Past Chairs

Laura Tyson, PhD, Director, Institute for Business and Social Impact, Haas School of Business

Robert Parry, PhD, President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Julius R. Krevans, MD, Chancellor, University of California San Francisco

Chang-Lin Tien, PhD, Chancellor, University of California Berkeley

Lenny Mendonca, Director, McKinsey & Company